How to edit an existing user

Both integrator-level and customer-level (owner and admins) users can edit user accounts. Integrators have full control over their child account users, the only account that cannot be modified is Owner, and only the Owner user himself can modify their own account details. It is possible to change:  the name, username, and password, enable/disable and assign roles to a user. Disabling a user allows the integrator/owner to lock this user out of the platform without permanently deleting the user account, allowing the integrator/owner to quickly restore user access when needed.


To modify a user using integrator-level access select a Customer account to which this user belongs and go to the User tab.

           



From customer level go to the Users menu and select a user you want to modify.


         

 


  • Changing the User's Email

To change the email of the user select the User Info tab and enter the email you want to use. Click on Save to save the settings.

            


Note: By default, the platform is using email as a username thus changing the email will also change the username with which the user has to login into the portals. This new email will be the new login id for the user. In the case when a user has enabled a custom username the change of the email address won't affect the username and such a user will still be able to login with the custom username.


  • Changing the User's Password 

To change the user password go to the Security Tab. There are 2 options to change the password:

  1.  To change the password with the desired password without automatic notification of the user
  2. To generate a random password for the user and notify the user via email with the new password.


  • Enabling or Disabling the User

A user can also be disabled or enabled by the Owner Customer/Integrator as well. Please note that enabling or disabling the user is a reversible process and deleting a user is an irreversible process.

To enable or disable a user, go to the Security Tab under User and then select the button to enable or disable the user under the User status.


  • Assign or remove roles

You can change which roles a user has thus controlling which cameras and what permission the user has. You can assign multiple roles to a user but only roles of the same type can be assigned to a user. If you need to change a user type from guard to admin or admin to guard you need to remove all roles from the user first and then you will be able to assign any role. The first role that you assign to a user will determine user type.

Note: Shared Cameras roles can be assigned to any user regardless of other roles.


  • Setting a custom username

Setting a custom username is possible only when the user logs into the admin portal themself. To do this user has to open the Profile option from the Profile dropdown menu and click on the Username tab. Next, uncheck the "Use email as username" check box and type in a custom username and click the Save button. After this user will have to use this custom username to access all portals, email as a username won't work any longer, the password will still be the same.


 

For more information on how to create a user, please follow this article↗️