Permission to view, create and download clips is governed by the role↗️ of a user.
This is how Library and clips visibility works in our system:
- Role determines what cameras are visible to the user
- Role specifies if clips can be saved for a specific camera
- Users can interact with the video portal based on the permissions set in their roles, so if the role has Save Clip permission the user will be able to create clips for a specific camera
- Clips are part of the archive of the camera thus they are not attached to a specific user. So when a user who has permission to create clips for a specific camera creates a clip, this clip becomes part of the camera archive and any user who has permission to view this camera will be able to see this clip in the Library.
For example, a customer has 4 cameras and 2 users. User A has permission to view and create clips for all 4 cameras but user B has permission to view only 2 of the cameras. If user A creates one clip for each camera then user B will be able to see only two clips that were created for the two cameras this user can view but not all 4 clips.