Share cameras between customers


Introduction

To allow users of one customer to view cameras of another customer, you can configure the sharing of the cameras between the two customers. The same customer can share their cameras with multiple other customers and receive shared cameras from multiple customers.


Step 1: Allow the sub-integrator to share cameras

By default, sharing is disabled for all accounts and needs to be enabled on the integrator level first. When the Share Cameras permission is enabled for the integrator, all of the customers that belong to this integrator will be able to activate the sharing of cameras.

Permission can be turned on from the Account profile menu.

This permission will allow sharing only for direct customers; customers of the sub-integrator won't be allowed to share their cameras unless this permission is enabled for the sub-integrator to whom the customer belongs.


Step 2: Link two customers together

To initiate the sharing of cameras, the customer to whom the cameras belong should share their unique code with the customer from whom the cameras need to be shared.

This code can be found in the Share menu after the Activate Sharing option is selected:

Next, the customer who wants to share their cameras has to register this code under their profile using the Activate sharing field:

This will complete the binding of the two customers, and now the customer who pasted the code and activated the sharing will be able to share a camera with the customer from whom the code was copied.


Step 3: Share a camera

After sharing is configured between the customers is configured either the owner or, admin with permission to share or the integrator can share an individual camera. Each camera has to be shared separately, so if multiple cameras need to be shared, the process has to be repeated multiple times.

Navigate to the Share menu and from it click on the Share button, in the popup that will appear, select the "Camera" option:

Next, choose what camera you want to share from a dropdown menu and to what customer to share:


Step 4: Configure access to the camera

Now the customer with whom the camera was shared will see a new role in the Roles table, this role will have a special type: "Shared cameras". If multiple cameras were shared from the same customer they all will appear under this role.  If sharing is enabled from multiple customers then multiple "Shared cameras" roles will be available in the list.

Shared cameras role can be assigned to both Admins and Guards or even be the only role for the user.


Step 5: Terminate sharing

Sharing does not expire and will be active until the camera is deleted from the Share list of the customer to whom the camera belongs.

To stop sharing, navigate to the Share menu, click on the Cameras tab and click on the line with the camera for which the sharing should be terminated. In the pop-up window, click the Delete button